Skip to content

Proud

July 28, 2010

Once again he wrote to me.  This time expressing his “fatherly concern” for me.   I’ve asked him numerous times to stop contacting me and that I’m not ready for contact; yet he persists.

Can a person really have “fatherly concern” for someone they’ve slept with?   Is it me or is that demeaning?  Honestly, it doesn’t matter.  FINALLY!  FINALLY!   I’m over it.    I hope.  I really hope.

I deleted the email and then went back to reading my book.   There was no bump in my world.   I did not cry half the night or  sit and ruminate over it.  I wasn’t shaken to my core and I didn’t read it over and over trying to glean something from it that wasn’t there.  I just laughed, at his lack or respect for my wishes, and picked up my book and continued to read.

I’m proud of myself.

I think I’m THERE.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 28, 2010 2:14 pm

    Yay for YOU! That is a great step forward.

    And yes, it is demeaning. Fortunately, demeaning only works if you let yourself feel demeaned. Otherwise the demeaner just looks silly.

    Also, “demean” sounds really funny after you say it a couple times.

  2. July 28, 2010 2:58 pm

    well, when you let someone in that deep, they have access to all those buttons. i’m proud of you for shrugging it off. you’re almost to the top of that hill…if you stumble that’s okay, i gots me some rope

Leave a Reply

